Comfort Books

Cover of "Demon's Fire (Tales of the Demo...

Cover via Amazon

There are, time and again, books I come back to because I need them. When I’m not feeling well, when I’ve had a bad day, when I’ve had a long day that just will not end enough to let me shut off my brain and rest, these books are there for me. I know, when I open the cover or navigate to the first chapter, that the story will end happily, the bad things to get there won’t be too awful and the romance involved will feel real and soft and warm.

I read books other than romance, I particularly like mysteries and Discworld, but when I need comfort rather than confrontation, I always end up back in my romances. This is part of why I started writing romances. Yes, I write sex scenes, but I hope I also write a relationship between two (or more) people that blossoms and feels real.

As I’m writing Love, Summer, I keep hoping that everybody who reads it will love my characters as much as I do. I’ve had the ending in my head since long before I put the first word on the screen. The Captain’s Captive is a bit more…difficult, the characters more complex with deeper intrigues but with a romance I hope will be one of the best I’ve written.

Right now, I’m getting ready to snuggle up with Demon’s Fire by Emma Holly because it’s been a long couple of weeks and my calendar is filling up more by the day, almost to the point where I don’t think I’ll have another chance to rest until January. Hopefully, what this means is that I will be getting more of my wonderful stories out. Until then, though, I’m going to curl up with an old, beloved companion and rest for a bit.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

