500 Words: Day 3

500wordssq-150x150I realized I could get all of my words by blogging everyday…but where’s the fun in that?

Most of what I wrote today was physical descriptions, processes and reactions but I really have no idea if I hit my word count because I haven’t figured out how to find it on my phone. I am technologically enthusiastic but not usually terribly motivated to discover how to use something beyond what I know I need it to do. This is probably a moral failing (laziness?) but it’s not one I’m in a hurry to change.

See, one thing I’ve learned about myself is that, when I start looking deeper into something, I end up down the rabbit hole. Wikipedia and TVTropes.org are off limits to me except for the briefest searches because I will get nothing else done if I go there while “researching” something vague. Finding out all the nifty things I can do with my phone will end with me being able to do nifty things on my phone but almost a whole day wasted on learning something that I probably won’t ever use again.

I’m pretty good at creative procrastination. I spent a whole day setting up spreadsheet. I made a template for earnings and expenses for my writing, one for tracking the number of words I write, when I write them and for which stories, and one for tracking how much money is getting put into the Christmas fund ($8 so far). I like tracking information and I was reminded recently that a tracked number grows. Since I want to grow my writing, both blog and short story/novel, I decided to track it. The financial spreadsheets will be very helpful come tax time.

Obviously, the spreadsheets needed to be made. They just didn’t need to be made right then. Right then, I should have been working on The Captain’s Captive or The King’s Chamber. I’d set the time aside to work on them, sat down, opened the files and opened up my spreadsheet program to start procrastinating.

I think I’m going to try something new this coming week. I’m going to set aside some time to just relax. Not creative relaxation, where I’m playing a game or reading a book, but just some time where I can take my mind off the hook and relax. I’m also going to be incorporating my yoga routine (DDP Yoga, in case anybody was wondering) into this relaxation. Maybe, giving myself permission to relax and not do anything will help me to be productive when I am working. Either that or I’m giving the people around me cattle prods, with instructions to use them if they see me doing something other than the task I’ve set myself.

It’s a new year. Time to form new habits. That’s why I decided to do this 500 words challenge. It’s not like I don’t try to write every day but, well, what with the new projects at my day job and the apartment a mess and…sometimes it can get hard to step away from life and just write.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

